Club History


1982 ABGA elected to AKC membership.
1983-1990 AKC Delegate, Mrs. Iris de la Torre Bueno
1984 Quarterly magazine founded.
1986 AKC requests reformat of all breed standards.
1989 AKC breed video taken at Giralda Farms, N.J.
1989-1992 Club President, Mrs. Edith Nash Hellerman
1990 Black Smooth disqualification removed from standard.
1990 Reformatted standard approved by AKC.
1990-1998 AKC Delegate, Mr. W. Henry Odum III
1991 Judges Education Committee formed. Mrs. Lorene Vickers-Smith, Chair
1992 ABGA First Roving Specialty held with Louisville Kennel Club
1993-2000 ABGA Specialty held with Louisville Kennel Club.
1992-1996 Club President, Mrs. Dawn Vick Hansen.
1995 50th Anniversary Show. Judge, Mrs. Dawn Vick Hansen
1996 Veteran Sweepstakes added to Specialty.
1996-2000 Club President, Mr. Terry Smith
1996 ABGA Health Committee formed
1998 ABGA Web page a reality
1998-2000 AKC Delegate, Mrs. Jacque Jones
2000 ABGA First Independent Specialty moves to Kansas City.
2000 Illustrated Standard completed.
2000-2002 Club President, Mrs. Bobbie Norkus
2000-2007 AKC Delegate, Mr. James (Jimmy) Neposchlan
2001 ABGA Independent Specialty moves back to Louisville.
2002-2006 Club President, Mr. Jeffery M. Bazell
2004 ABGA first Independent Specialty Executive Inn, Louisville, Ky
2006-2012 Club President, Mr. Raul Peralta
2007 Started AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award participation
2007 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Denise Brusseau-Ortmann
2007-2013 AKC Delegate, Mr. Mark Grigalunas
2008 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Katherine (Kay) Braukman
2009 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Dawn (Vic) Hansen
2010 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Cindy Muir
2011 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Jacque Jones
2012 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, JoAnn Adamson
2012- 2016 Club President, Ms. Heather Stants
2013 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Lisa Straub
2014 AKC’s Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Dede Stevens
2014-2016 AKC Delegate, Mr. Raul Peralta
2015 AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Robin Schmitt
2016 AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Jimmy Neposchlan
2016 Club President, Mr Raul Peralta
2016 AKC Delegate, Mr Mark Jaeger
2016 New ABGA website launched (
2017 AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Nancy Brooks