Duties of the Committee
Chair / Member(s)

ABGA Breed Standard

Deal with all issues related to the breed standard

Lorene Vickers-Smith (chair)
Dawn Hansen
Majorie Simon

Social Media

Provide guidance to the membership in the area of social media and associated connectivity.

Francis Flavin (chair)
Rhonda Vandermeer

Public Education

Coordinates and disseminate information sent to ABGA by AKC Public Education Dept.

Charitable Giving Analysis

Purpose: Investigate and recommend to the board two charities and suggest donation amount to fulfill ABGA tax exempt status obligation

Carole Ross (Chair)
Donna Johnson
Beth-Ann Lane

Membership Education

Coordinate and present educational materials to the ABGA membership.

Heather Stants-chair
Erik Michelsen

Health & Research

The Health Committee is responsible for developing breed health awareness, resources to aid breeders/owners with information that promotes nutritional and lifetime care specific to the breed, as well as current links and guidelines for genetic health testing. Conducting of Health Surveys to monitor and assess health trends, to communicate survey results and encourage ongoing education by organizing research grants and speakers to inform breeders and owners with the latest information. The goal, to pave a healthy future for the Brussels Griffon breed.

Meg Prior (chair)
Nancy Brooks
Cindy Muir
DeDe Stevens
Pam Loeb
Maxine Gordon
Maureen Rogers

Illustrated Standard

Handle questions and future revisions
Disseminate Illustrated Standard

Lorene Vickers-Smith
Dawn Hansen
Marjorie Simon

Judges Education

Sanction Judges’ Education Seminars, create and disseminate seminar materials, train presenters.

Lorene M. Vickers-Smith-chair

Committee Members:
Anne Catterson
Dawn Hansen
Marjorie Simon
Heather Stants
Karen Wisnieski

Liaison To Combined
Specialty Clubs of Louisville

Represent ABGA at Combined Specialty Club meetings and communicate information

Maxine Gordon

Membership Committee

Purpose: Process new membership applications.

Heather Stants — chair
JoAnn Adamson
Erik Michelsen


Purpose: works to settle problems submitted to the satisfaction of both parties

Kay Braukman

Show Protocol Committee

Maintain contact, answer questions for those holding ABGA show events intheir area, solve problems implementing ABGA Show Events Checklist

Henry Odum — chair
James (Jimmy) Neposchlan

Specialty Judges Selection Committee

Create/maintain list of eligible judges & Sweeps nominations, Hold election of Specialty Sweeps and Breed judges

Heather Stants — chair
Anne Catterson
Raul J. Peralta

Ways and Means/
Finance Committee

Receive financial or budget requests from committees and implement through fundraising and allocation.

Rhonda Vandermeer — chair
JoAnn Adamson, Francis Flavin, Karin Jaeger, Anne Jahelka, Carol Kokkeler, Maureen Rogers, Dede Stevens, Cindy Muir

National Specialty Trophy Committee

Arrange for trophy donations and select trophies for the Specialties

ABGA Board Appointments

Appointed to
Duties of the Committee
Presently Serving

Audit Review Committee

Purpose: Review all treasury statements and summaries after 12/3 and before the ABGA annual membership meeting.

ABGA Bulletin

Publish and mail Bulletin to members

Anne Catterson – Editor

AKC Delegate

Represent ABGA at AKC delegate meetings & reports to ABGA

Delegate to Parent Club’s Conference

Represent ABGA at conference and disseminate information to ABGA

Heather Stants

ABGA Historian

Gather and hold in one place historic and contemporary club/breed documents

Jeff Bazell – Chair

AKC Gazette Columnist

Write the breed column for AKC Gazette

Anne Catterson

Breed Info and Referral

Send information as requested by public & through AKC phone referral and WebSite

Kay Braukman

Delegate to AKC Canine Health Conference

Represent ABGA at Seminar and disseminate information to ABGA

Greetings and Goodwill Committee

Create amity through sending notes of congratulations, condolence, etc. to members

JoAnn Adamson
Keith Jacobson
Rhonda Vandermeer


Evaluate, report and make recommendations on Legislative issues to the club members

Mark Jaeger

Perfomance Events Committee

To increase interest in performance events within the Griffon fancy